A chance to talk to FlatpanelsHD's reviewers.
By kuulatron
Thank you for the good review. I'm a little new to the current TV world and I was wondering how would I be able to find out if the 55" model uses the same type of panel as this 47"? Would help alot if I could at least use your calibrations as a guide.
By Rasmus Larsen
To my knowledge it's the same panel in Philips' 55 inch TV. In other words; LG's IPS panel that is also utilized in LG's 55" 55LW6500 model.
By sinistro
Thanks for this review :)

You say that you have to sit away a few meters for the pasive 3d. I am in the market for a set but not sure yet what but my eyes did fall on these 7606 series. My distance is 2.30-2,50 is that a good distance for a 47''?

I have a 40pfl7605 already and I found that the blacks on that one is beter then on my lg plasma 50pk250 ( which is just dark grey ) and with the combination of the ambilight the blacks look even more black, does the blacks look beter with ambilight activated on the 7606 also??

Is the 2d the same or better then the 6606 you tested before?
By kuulatron
Rasmus Larsen wrote:To my knowledge it's the same panel in Philips' 55 inch TV. In other words; LG's IPS panel that is also utilized in LG's 55" 55LW6500 model.
Thank you. Also sorry for asking, but was the input lag tested in 'Game' mode or with the calibrated 'Cinema' mode? Is there a difference?
By sinistro
Maybe because the 40'' 6606 uses sharp panels ( ASV I think ) and the 7606 the LG IPS.

I think also that the black level difference between the LG LW650 and the philips 7606 might be due the partial local dimming the LG has and not the philips.
By pygar7
Apols, meant to post here.
Great review of the PFL7606. Could anyone please explain the difference between the Philips PFL7606, PFL7656 and the newly released PFL7666?
Thanks in advance...
By Jvdk
Thanks for the review.

You have missed one fairly important aspect though.

The TV-set does not support DTS.